A view from a pipe

01.09.2021

In the area of Groningen Gull-billed Terns like to roost on large pipes in sand extraction facilities where they are sometimes too far away from land to be identified by their rings. But Harry Kuipers and Henri Zomer had a smart idea, putting a trailcamera on one of the pipes. Here is Harry's report:

"When Gull-billed Terns leave their breeding colony in Dithmarschen (Schleswig-Holstein, Germany) for migration, the first stop for many birds of the colony is at a sand extraction company in the eastern part of the province of Groningen, Netherlands. From the second half of July there are a lot of Great Green Bush-Crickets in nearby barley fields which is super food for the chicks. The Gull-billed Terns often rest on the pipes that transport sand collected from the bottom of the lake by a special boat with a big sort of vacuum cleaner. When the birds sit on the pipes, it is possible to read the rings. Every year I am spending many hours trying to read the rings. Unfortunately, this year was a difficult year to read the rings, because the pipes were too far away from the waterfront. Hence we decided to place a trail camera on the pipes (with permission of the sand extraction company) hoping to eventually have some ringed Gull-billed Terns on photo. After 3 weeks waiting and 11.000+ photos to check, 8 different birds could be identified. Among them a spectacular sighting of YGYY* feeding his chick R36 a Great Green Bush-Cricket. Two days earlier YGYY was seen in the province of Noord-Holland, Netherlands, a place he has been visiting every year so far. Now he flew back to Groningen, to a place where he has never been seen before. But why did he fly back? Lack of food for his chicks in Noord-Holland?"

* Reading order of colour rings is bottom of left leg to top of right leg, using English abbreviations. Hence YGYY is short for Yellow-Green-Yellow-Yellow. By the way, YGYY is a male, born in 2015 at the Neufelderkoog-colony where he has been spotted breeding each year since 2018.

First juvenile reported from Spain

22.08.2021

On August 22nd the first of our youngsters was spotted in Spain. Ramon Diaz took photographs of R08 with an unringed parent in the Basque city of Irun (Gipuzcoa province), vis-a-vis the French border. There the river Bidasoa makes a small estuary to the southeastern Biscaya which at first glance doesn't appear to be very idyllic in a busy urban area. But the Gull-billed Terns don't seem to care. This very place has been used in previous years by our terns before and seems to be a regular station during migration - at least for some individuals. R08's last record before this was on July 27th near Groningen.

 

 

60% reported back

06.08.2021

Shortly after leaving their breeding grounds 31 ringed chicks out of 52 have already been reported back at least once. 29 reports are from the Netherlands, 2 from Germany. Very early in the migration stage this means 60% - a remarkably high rate of readings.

Project administrators

Our sponsors

Our partners

Contact us

We are excited to receive your input, suggestions and questions. Please contact us via one of the following ways:

info@gelochelidon.de

Vom Spülrohr aus gesehen

01.09.2021

In der Nähe von Groningen rasten Lachseeschwalben tagsüber in mit Wasser gefüllten Sandentnahmegruben auf großen schwimmenden Spülrohren, wo sie oft außerhalb der Sichtweite sind, um die Ringe ablesen zu können. Daher kamen Harry Kuipers und Henri Zomer auf die Idee, eine Wildkamera an den Rohren zu befestigen. Hier ist Harry's Bericht dazu:

"Nach dem verlassen der Brutkolonie in Dithmarschen suchen viele Lachseeschwalben als erstes ein Rastgebiet in der Provinz Groningen auf, das auf dem Gebiet einer Sandgewinnungsfirma liegt. In der zweiten Julihälfte sind sehr viele große Heuschrecken (Tettigonia viridis) in den umgebenden Gerstenfeldern zu finden, die ein perfektes Futter für die flüggen Küken sind. Die Lachseeschwalben ruhen sich gerne auf den riesigen Rohren auf, mit dem der Sand heraufgespült wird wie ein großer Staubsauger. Wenn die Vögel auf den Rohren sitzen, bietet sich Gelegenheit die Ringe abzulesen, aber dieses Jahr waren die Bedingungen ungünstig, weil die Rohre sehr weit weg vom Ufer lagen. Daher kamen wir auf die Idee, eine automatische Wildkamera (mit Erlaubnis des Grundbesitzers) auf einem Rohr zu befestigen, in der Hoffnung einige wenige Ringe ablesen zu können. Nach 3 Wochen Wartezeit und mehr als 11.000 durchgesehenen Bildern konnten wir 8 verschiedene Individuen unterscheiden. Darunter war ein spektakuläres Bild von YGYY*, der sein Küken R36 mit einer Heuschrecke füttert (s. Foto). Noch 2 Tage zuvor wurde YGYY in der Provinz Noord-Holland gesehen, wo er bisher jedes Jahr zur Zugzeit gesehen worden ist, allerdings bisher noch nie in Groningen. Warum ist er nun plötzlich hier aufgetaucht? Dafür muss es einen Grund geben. Nahrungsmangel in seinem bisherigen Rastgebieten in Noord-Holland?"

* Die Leserichtung der Farbringe ist vom linken Bein unten nach rechts oben. Die Farben werden englisch abgekürzt. YGYY steht also für Yellow-Green-Yellow-Yellow. YGYY ist übrigens ein Männchen, geboren 2015 in der Kolonie Neufelderkoog, wo er seit 2018 jedes Jahr als Brutvogel gesehen wurde.

Erster Jungvogel aus Spanien gemeldet

22.08.2021

Am 22. August wurde der erste Jungvogel unseres Jahrgangs aus Spanien gemeldet. Ramon Diaz fotografierte R08 mit einem unberingtem Elternteil im baskischen Irun (Provinz Gipuzkoa), nahe der französischen Grenze. Dort am südöstlichen Rand der Biskaya bildet der Fluss Bidasoa an seiner Mündung ein kleines Ästuar, welches auf den ersten Blick in dicht besiedeltem Gebiet und umgeben von Flughafen und Güterbahnhof nicht sehr idyllisch erscheint. Den Lachseeschwalben ist das anscheinend egal. Bereits in den Vorjahren wurden genau an dieser Stelle wiederholt Neufelder Lachseeschwalben in geringer Anzahl nachgewiesen. R08 wurde davor zuletzt am 28.7. aus der Nähe von Groningen/NL gemeldet.

 

 

60% aller Küken bereits abgelesen

06.08.2021

Bereits 31 von 52 beringten Küken, die vor kurzem mit ihren Eltern das Brutgebiet verlassen hatten, konnten mindestens 1x abgelesen werden. 29 Meldungen kamen dabei aus den Niederlanden, 2 aus Deutschland. Dies ergibt schon zu Beginn des Wegzuges eine erstaunlich hohe Rückmelderate von 60%.

Projektträger

Unsere Geldgeber

Unsere Partner

Kontaktieren Sie Uns

Wir freuen Uns über Ihre Beiträge, Anregungen und Fragen. Kontaktieren Sie Uns gerne auf einem der folgenden Wege:

info@gelochelidon.de