Significant variation in plumage coloration of juveniles

27.07.2021

Juveniles going into their first winter show remarkable variation in plumage coloration. 3 general types of which can be distinguished while overlap occurs and exact borders are hard to establish.

Type 1 has a fair or pale basic colour and little contrast. There are few shades of brown, mostly warm-noted and reddish, with smooth transients like water colour.

Type 2 is the opposite in most aspects. There are different shades of brown, with a darker brown set on drop-like ornaments which are significantly contrasting with any surrounding colours. From a distance this is resembling juvenile Black-headed Gulls.

Type 3 is similar to type 1 in the lack of contrast, but the basic colour is darker. Along with brown this plumage shows a lot of grey as background pattern.

All 3 types can be seen on the first photo while the second shows two fair coloured individuals, one very pale with low contrast, the other still pale, but with high contrast.

How can those variations be explained that are only present in juveniles? We know that adults in their 3rd calendar year (2nd winter) show very little variations (if any) while older birds all look the same (at least to the human eye). There must be an evolutionary benefit in juvenile plumage variation that is not obvious.

 

58 chicks on the wing - new all-time high!

24.07.2021

End of July is the time for us to strike a balance. How many chicks have made it to fledging and will be leaving the colony on the wing? Those who did are going with good prospects for their future, but until then life is dangerous and all too often a matter of chance. Survival depends on many factors, some of which we are able to control by conservation efforts, some we are not.

So you'll never know and each year is different, but what a surprise - this time was big time! The breeding season 2021 is now closing with the best result ever. Since mid-July we had been quite positive that 52 ringed chicks were alive and about to leave the colony. But, adding up to that, latest reports by Gerd-Michael Heinze (published on ornitho.de) showed that another 6 chicks without rings are being fed on the Lower-Saxony-part of the River Elbe estuary. Most likely they also came from the Neufelderkoog colony, since currently there is no other breeding habitat for Gull-billed Terns in Germany (and Central Europe) than this. We must have missed them at ringing. Anyway, the number of fledged chicks now totals at 58, a marvellous result and a most welcomed reward for all the work that has been put in so far.

Link to observation (ornitho.de)

This year a surprising lot of chicks and adults went to Holland very early, straight from the colony, with no longer ado. We know about the ways of our terns in the Netherlands thanks to observations and photographs by many Dutch observers and photographers (most notably Renate and Fred Visscher, Harry Kuipers). During migration the first stop is usually taken at certain sandplants close to Groningen where there is plenty of food (mainly Tettigonia-grashoppers) and quiet roosting sites. This year a significant number of terns seemed to be in a hurry for leaving the colony area earlier than usual, perhaps because food was poorer there than in other years.

Flatfish to-go

18.07.2021

During midsummer a lot of young fish are migrating upstream into the tidal zones of the River Elbe and connected waters, among those many flatfish. At low tide they are ususally hiding in the mud, enjoying their camouflage and not moving very much - but still enough to be detected by a Gull-billed Tern.

In this scene from the Neufeld harbour basin the retreating waters reveal a flatfish while a Gull-billed Tern is rushing along. Again Fred Visscher found the exact moment to push the trigger on the camera. The precision, speed and aerodynamic control of the tern's action is just breathtaking!

Project administrators

Our sponsors

Our partners

Contact us

We are excited to receive your input, suggestions and questions. Please contact us via one of the following ways:

info@gelochelidon.de

Deutliche Färbungsunterschiede im Jugendkleid

27.07.2021

Bei Jungvögeln, die das erste volle Kleid tragen, können teils große Unterschiede in der Gefiederfärbung auftreten. Es lassen sich 3 Färbungstypen grob unterscheiden, die sich unter Berücksichtigung gewisser Übergangsformen mehr oder weniger klar abgrenzen lassen.

Typ 1 ist hell und kontrastarm. Es gibt sehr wenige und eher warme Brauntöne, die zumeist blass, beige und "aquarelliert" erscheinen.

Typ 2 zeigt ein eher gegensätzliches Muster. Es gibt verschiedene Brauntöne sowie dunkles Braun auf zumeist tropfenförmige Ornamenten, die gegen die umgebende Färbung kontrastreich abgesetzt sind.

Typ 3 ist ähnlich Typ 1 ebenfalls mehr oder weniger kontrastarm, aber gegenüber diesem in insgesamt dunklerem Ton gehalten. Im diesem Gefieder gibt es neben Braun meist auch viel Grau, als Grundton hinterlegt.

Alle 3 Typen sind auf dem 1. Foto mit der Dreiergruppe sichtbar. Auf dem 2. Foto sieht man einen hellen und extrem "blonden" Typ 1, neben einem zwar ebenfalls recht hellen, aber kontrastreichen Typ 3.

Wie erklären sich diese Unterschiede angesichts der Tatsache, dass sich Altvögel nach dem 2. Winter fast nicht mehr, und nach dem 3. Winter unmöglich unterscheiden lassen (zumindest für das menschliche Auge)? Es muss einen evolutionären Ursprung geben, der sich nicht schnell und einfach erschließt.

 

58 Küken flügge - so viel, wie noch nie!

24.07.2021

Ende Juli kommt für unser Artenschutzprojekt die Zeit, um Bilanz zu ziehen. Wie viele Küken sind durchgekommen und werden mit ihren Eltern den Weg in die Winterquartiere antreten? Diejenigen, die es schaffen, sich 4 Wochen nach dem Schlupf in die Luft zu erheben, haben gute Chancen für die Zukunft, aber der Weg bis dahin ist gefährlich und oftmals von Zufällen bestimmt. Das Überleben hängt immer von vielen Faktoren ab. Manche davon können wir im Artenschutzprojekt beeinflussen, manche nicht.

Diesmal lief es gut. Die Brutzeit im Jahr 2021 schließt mit einem Rekord ab, dem besten Brutergebnis seit Projektbeginn im Jahr 2011. Dass 52 beringte Küken die Kolonie verlassen würden, hatte sich schon Mitte des Monats angedeutet. Nun zeigen Beobachtungen von Gerd-Michael Heinze, die auf der Plattform ornitho.de gemeldet wurden, dass am niedersächsichen Elbufer weitere 6 unberingte Küken aufgetaucht sind, die uns bislang unbekannt waren, aber mit hoher Wahrscheinlichkeit auch aus der Kolonie Neufelderkoog stammen. Derzeit gibt es in Deutschland und Mitteleuropa kein anderes Brutgebiet. Die Gesamtsumme flügger Küken steigt damit jedenfalls auf insgesamt 58.

Link zur Beobachtung

In diesem Jahr sind überraschend viele Familien mit Küken früh in den niederländischen Rastgebieten eingetroffen, ohne sich zuvor noch länger im Umfeld der Kolonie aufzuhalten. Auf Grund der Beobachtungen und Fotografien niederländischer Beobachter und Fotografen (v.a. Renate und Fred Visscher, Harry Kuipers) wissen wir schon einiges über Funktion und Bedeutung bestimmter Gebiete, die von unseren Lachseeschwalben alljährlich nach der Brutzeit angesteuert werden. Der erste längere Aufenthalt wird zumeist an Sandgruben in der Umgebung von Groningen gewählt (z.B. Alteveer), die als ruhige Tageseinstände nutzbar sind und in der Umgebung große Mengen an Futter (v.a. Tettigonia-Heuschrecken) bieten. In diesem Jahr scheinen sie es besonders eilig gehabt zu haben, möglichst schnell dorthin zu kommen, vielleicht weil die Nahrungssituation im Umfeld der Kolonie magerer war als sonst.

Plattfisch to-go

18.07.2021

Im Hochsommer halten sich in der Tide-Elbe und den damit verbundenen Gewässern viele diesjährige Fische auf. Vor allem junge Plattfische sind häufig. Bei Niedrigwasser liegen sie nach Art der Plattfische im Schlamm und bewegen sich nicht viel - jedoch genug, um von einer Lachseeschwalbe im schnellen Vorbeiflug entdeckt zu werden.

In dieser Szene aus dem Neufelder Hafenbecken gibt das ablaufende Wasser den Blick auf einen Plattfisch frei. Fred Visscher hatte im entscheidenen Sekundenbruchteil den Finger am Auslöser. Faszinierend wie präzise und kontrolliert der schnelle Bewegungsablauf im Moment des Zugriffs ist.

 

Projektträger

Unsere Geldgeber

Unsere Partner

Kontaktieren Sie Uns

Wir freuen Uns über Ihre Beiträge, Anregungen und Fragen. Kontaktieren Sie Uns gerne auf einem der folgenden Wege:

info@gelochelidon.de