Slamming the brakes for a meal

16.07.2021

For Gull-billed Terns flying is the easiest thing. When in a hurry they effortlessly speed up to 80 km/h (50 mph), but they also like to slowly soar against the wind when in search of food. This body is optimized for all kinds of flying tasks on mimimum fuel consumption.

When hunting (which is more like gathering than hunting) they rely on their big eyes, not missing out a single thing on the ground -  a moth, a tip of an earthworm, a frog in a ditch, the smallest movements of mitten crabs in the mud. It all starts with a seemingly relaxed search flight when suddenly the target ist detected, followed by an immediate stop (like slamming the aerial breaks) and a downward swoop. The beak's final grasp almost never fails. It is a special feature of Gull-billed terns that they never dive while feeding. Only the head dips in, not the body. Gull-billed Terns have a large proportion of terrestrial food among their diet and do not care about fish very much. Compared to other tern species of that size these preferences are quite unique, indicating tight evolutionary adaptions to a special habitat between land and water.

This beautiful shot of a Gull-billed Tern (one second away from catching a mitten crab) was taken by the Dutch photographer Fred Visscher in the Harbour of Neufeld on July 16th, 2021. The perfection lies in the dynamics of that very moment, frozen in time. While it is obviously a still photo it tells a lot about motion and the events a few seconds before an after the shot.

Just by chance this photo tells yet another story - that bird is individually tagged with colour rings. Actually, that is why we know it quite well. Here is the story so far: This bird was ringed as a chick on June 26th, 2015, in the Neufelderkoog-colony. Since then it has been reported by birdwatchers in Germany and the Netherlands more than 30 times. When a few weeks old, right from its early flying days, it showed up at several Dutch sandplants joining its parents in its first turn of migration. Since then and over the years it has been reported a number of times from those very spots. The first year of its breeding was 2019.

Saudações de Portugal

05.07.2021

Recently a dead adult Gull-billed Tern was found behind the colony - carrying a ring from Portugal. Of course, a dead tern is always a sad loss to us, but beyond its death this ringed one could perhaps give answers to the still open question whether or not genetic exchange is going on between our colony and other European colonies (which in our case are all more than 1000 km away) and, if so, to what extent. Two options are possible: In case this bird was ringed as a chick or breeding adult in a Portuguese colony, we would indeed expect some degree of exchange. In case this bird was ringed out of the breeding season, particularly during migration, there would rather be more support for the no-exchange scenario. Moreover, this bird could then well be from our colony at Neufelderkoog where it was found dead at its likely birthplace.

The matter of genetic exchange and the risk potential coming with inbreeding has drawn our attention for quite some time (see blog of May 16th) with good reason. The Neufelderkoog colony is located more than 1000 km away from the next "neighbour" colony. In terms of population biology this is like a far away island in the ocean.

Since processing of international ring records do take a lot of time (and we just could not stand to wait) we asked Dr. Sandra Bouwhuis, scientific director at the Institut für Vogelforschung in Wilhelmshaven, to lend a hand on this in order to shortcut the process. And the answer was quick!

The Gull-billed tern with the ring I 15390 was tagged as adult (2 years or older) on September 8th, 2018, at Salinas do Samouco (Setúbal, Portugal) at night around 1:30 o'clock. Body mass was 194g which is a normal weight for a healthy adult tern. This place is a salt production site with lots of ponds in the River Tejo estuary where migrating birds gather to roost, a view to the Portuguese capital Lisboa included. From other ring records we know that Gull-billed Terns are using the western European/Atlantic coastlines as orientation during migration and particularly like to stay in estuaries. The date of ringing lies well outside the breeding season when most individuals have left Central Europe already, particularly when they don't have chicks. Hence the birthplace of the dead specimen still remains unclear, but with high probability it is Dithmarschen, the Neufelderkoog-colony. Perhaps there will be some more specific answers coming soon with the help of molecular genetics.

Rings attached

27.06.2021

Last weekend 42 chicks have been ringed in the main colony. This is exactly this years number of breeding pairs. We are happy to see that more chicks are about to come up because there are still nests with breeding adults for which hatching is expected in the next 10 days. There was no indication of deseases or predation in the colony. The chicks appeared to be healthy and vital so that we have reason to hope for a good survival. It could well turn out to be an above-average year in terms of reproduction. Fingers crossed! We will know in August.

Project administrators

Our sponsors

Our partners

Contact us

We are excited to receive your input, suggestions and questions. Please contact us via one of the following ways:

info@gelochelidon.de

Vollbremsung für einen Happen

16.07.2021

Fliegen ist für Lachseeschwalben ein Leichtes. Wenn sie es eilig haben, fliegen sie scheinbar mühelos mit 80 km/h dahin. Umgekehrt fliegen sie bei der Nahrungssuche gerne sehr langsam gegen den Wind. Alles kein Problem für einen so für das Fliegen perfektionierten Körper.

Wenn Lachseeschwalben in ihrer typischen Weise auf Nahrungssuche sind, entgeht ihren großen Augen nichts - sei es ein fliegender Falter, die Spitze eines Regenwurmes, ein Frosch im Graben, die Bewegung einer Wollhandkrabbe im Schlick. Sobald die Beute erspäht ist, erfolgt eine Vollbremsung in der Luft, ein kurzer Sturzflug und der gezielte Zugriff mit dem Schnabel. Dabei tauchen Lachseeschwalben bestenfalls mit dem Kopf ein, der Körper bleibt stets über Wasser. Sie jagen gerne an Land und machen sich nicht viel aus Fischen. Auch in dieser für Seeschwalben etwas außergewöhnlichen Nahrungswahl zeigt sich die weitgehende Anpassung an ein Leben im Übergang zwischen Land und Wasser.

Dem niederländischen Fotografen Fred Visscher gelang dieses perfekte Foto einer Lachseeschwalbe kurz vor dem Ergreifen einer Wollhandkrabbe am 16. Juli 2021 im Hafen von Neufeld. Obwohl sich das Bild nicht bewegt, transportiert es die ganze Dynamik dieser einen Sekunde. Durch Zufall verrät es noch mehr - der Vogel trägt Ringe, die ihn individuell erkennbar machen. Hier seine Geschichte: Dieser Vogel wurde am 26.6.2015 in der Kolonie Neufelderkoog als Küken beringt und seitdem von Vogelbeobachtern mehr als 30x abgelesen und gemeldet. Schon im Alter von wenigen Wochen besuchte er mit seinen Eltern Sand- und Kiesgruben in den Niederlanden bei Groningen, an denen er seitdem regelmäßig zur Zugzeit wiedergesehen wird. Zum ersten mal gebrütet hat er als Vierjähriger im Jahr 2019.

Saudações de Portugal

05.07.2021

Bei einer Kontrolle hinter der Kolonie wurde eine tote adulte Lachseeschwalbe mit einem Ring aus Portugal gefunden. So bedauerlich dieser Fund auch ist, die Geschichte, die mit diesem Ring verbunden ist, könnte ein Licht darauf werfen, ob es einen genetischen Austausch zwischen den mediterranen Kolonien und unserer Kolonie im Neufelderkoog-Vorland gibt. Dies wäre anzunehmen, wenn der Vogel als Küken oder Brutvogel in einer portugiesischen Kolonie beringt worden wäre. Sollte der Vogel seinen Ring dagegen außerhalb der Brutzeit bekommen haben, wäre eher davon auszugehen, dass er ein Durchzügler ist, dessen Herkunft dann sehr wahrscheinlich in Neufelderkoog liegt.

Die Frage, ob es einen genetischen Austausch mit weit entfernten Kolonien geben könnte, beschäftigt uns schon länger (siehe Blog vom 16. Mai). Immerhin befindet sich im Vorland von Neufelderkoog die letzte Lachseeschwalbenkolonie Mitteleuropas – populationsbiologisch wie auf einer weit entfernten Insel.

Da Bearbeitungen von Ringmeldungen innerhalb Europas lange dauern können und wir es nicht aushielten, darauf zu warten, baten wir Dr. Sandra Bouwhuis, wissenschaftliche Direktorin am Institut für Vogelforschung in Wilhelmshaven (die für uns zuständige Markierungszentrale) um Kontaktaufnahme mit ihren portugiesischen Kollegen – und erhielten prompt eine Antwort.

Die Lachseeschwalbe mit der Ringnummer I 15390 wurde am 8. September 2018 nachts um 1:30 Uhr in den Salinas do Samouco (Setúbal, Portugal) beringt. Sie war damals mindestens 2 Jahre alt und wog 194g, was dem Gewicht einer gesunden, ausgewachsenen Lachseeschwalbe entspricht. Der Beringungsort befindet sich auf einer großflächigen Meersalzgewinnungsanlage im Mündungsgebiet des Tejo mit Blick auf die Hauptstadt Lissabon, die als Rast- und Schlafplatz für Durchzügler bekannt ist. Aus weiteren Ringmeldungen wissen wir, dass sich Lachseeschwalben auf dem Zug gerne an Flussmündungen aufhalten und die westeuropäische Atlantikküste als Leitlinie benutzen. Das Beringungsdatum 8. September liegt klar außerhalb der Brutzeit und in einem Zeitfenster, in dem nahezu alle Lachseeschwalben Mitteleuropa verlassen, die ohne Küken unterwegs sind. Der Geburtsort der Lachseeschwalbe und ihre Koloniezugehörigkeit bleiben damit zunächst weiter unbekannt. Die Wahrscheinlichkeit ist jedoch hoch, dass es Dithmarschen ist. Vielleicht können molekulargenetische Methoden dazu bald mehr herausfinden.

Beringung in der Hauptkolonie

27.06.2021

In der Hauptkolonie wurden am letzten Wochenende 42 Küken beringt. Dies entspricht genau der Anzahl der aktuellen Brutpaare. Erfreulicherweise gibt es weitere Gelege, die noch bebrütet werden und deren Schlupf in der nächsten Woche zu erwarten ist. Bei der Kontrolle der Brutkolonie wurden keine Hinweise auf Krankheiten oder Prädation gefunden. Die Küken wirkten vital, sodass eine hohe Überlebensrate zu erwarten ist. Es könnte auf ein überdurchschnittlich gutes Brutergebnis hinauslaufen. Im August wissen wir mehr.

Projektträger

Unsere Geldgeber

Unsere Partner

Kontaktieren Sie Uns

Wir freuen Uns über Ihre Beiträge, Anregungen und Fragen. Kontaktieren Sie Uns gerne auf einem der folgenden Wege:

info@gelochelidon.de